SPR-Pages

pagelogo
back
Immobilization on NTA-Chips - SPRpages
back
This forum is intended for questions about kinetics, Surface Plasmon Resonance and the instruments related to these techniques.

Immobilization on NTA-Chips

• Joe
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
3 years 1 month ago #1 by Joe
Immobilization on NTA-Chips was created by Joe
Hello Together!

I have recently started a project where I want to use SPR to study protein-carbohydrate interactions. However, I have never worked with SPR before which makes me a total beginner.

I would like to immobilize a His(6)-tag protein. In the literature I found out that NTA-chips are commonly used for this purpose. So I ordered a Xantec NiHC-200M (NTA-derivatized polycarboxylate hydrogel). While reading up on the methodology, I now have a few questions.

First of all some information:
- Device: Biacore T200
- protein approx. 30 kDa with N-terminal His(6) tag
- analyte approx. 20 - 25 kDa

Now my questions:
Can this kind of immobilization (activation with nickel + injecting liagnd) be permanent? The protein I want to immobilize is very expensive and therefore I don't want to re-inject it for every experiment (over a time of 3 months). However, I keep reading in the literature that after immobilization and analysis of the ligand-analyte-interaction, you regenerate the surface of the chip (e.g. with 350 mM EDTA). But with this, my surface is going to be totally regenerated, so my immobilized protein is gone?
Can I skip this regeneration so that my protein continues to remain on the surface? And if so, is it storable this way? Or do I run the risk that my analyte will also remain on the surface?

One more question about this: I also came across a paper where His(6) proteins were covalently immobilized on an NTA chip using EDC and NHS. Does anyone perhaps have experience with this or a protocol?

I am sorry for all that questions.
I would be very happy if someone could help me.

Best regards,
Joe S.