SPR-Pages

pagelogo
back
Click chemistry in water - SPRpages
back
This forum is intended for questions about kinetics, Surface Plasmon Resonance and the instruments related to these techniques.

Click chemistry in water

• sarabjork
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
3 years 3 months ago #1 by sarabjork
Click chemistry in water was created by sarabjork
Hi everyone!

I'm very new to SPR and only had a couple of weeks with a previous employee to learn how to use the instrument before I took over. The instrument is new here in the group and only me and a PhD student know how to use it, neither of us being very experienced. I'm an organic chemist.

I need to immobilize peptides containing propargylglycine (terminal alkyne) on an azide-modified chip using CuSO4, sodium ascorbate and a THPTA ligand. I have carried out the same click reaction in water with another azide and it works fine. The person who ran SPR before me tried to do the same on a gold surface in a buffer (PBS) but the CuSO4 precipitates and causes problems. She then ran the same in milli-Q water and got some good results. When we tried to reproduce this, the baseline drifted very dramatically down. I contacted the producer of the chip and he recommended not to run the experiments in water, due to electrostatic interactions with anything that might be in the water. He said running with a medium ionic strenght buffer would be better. I tried this and got a much better baseline, but needed to change to water for the immobilization due to the copper solubility issues and again got dramatic baseline drifts and even large negative signal when injecting the first peptide.

My question is: Can I perform the click reaction where I dissolve all reagents in water but keep the running buffer as PBS? Is there a more suitable buffer for this?