SPR-Pages

pagelogo
back
Ka and Kd results - SPRpages
back
This forum is intended for questions about kinetics, Surface Plasmon Resonance and the instruments related to these techniques.

Ka and Kd results

• Bigsby
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
4 years 2 months ago #1 by Bigsby
Ka and Kd results was created by Bigsby
I'm new to SPR having just finished my first experiment and I'm still not quite clear on interpreting some of the kinetics results, specifically Kd. Also I'm trying to understand how to translate Ka and Kd into how fast my analyte binds to the ligand and how fast it unbinds - so as to determine hypothetical viability of my analyte as a drug, for example if I was testing a pain medication it would be desirable for it to bind quickly and then take a long time to unbind.

I understand Ka represents amount of interactions in 1 M of solution, per second. But I'm still not quite understanding Kd after reading the description on this site. And how would those values (Ka and Kd) translate into whether the analyte binds faster or slower then it unbinds?

So my results were as such - ka = 9.458E+4, kd = 9.787E-4 and KD = 1.035E-8

I know this is probably basic stuff for some of the users on this site but for me it's all very new so any help in understating this further would be greatly appreciated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Arnoud
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
4 years 2 months ago - 4 years 2 months ago #2 by Arnoud
Replied by Arnoud on topic Ka and Kd results
Hi and welcome,
There is quite a confusion in your parameter notation, so first of all, let's get the parameters right.
ParameterMeaningUnits
kaAssociation rate constantM-1s-1
kdDissociation rate constants-1
KDEquilibrium dissociation constantM

The association and dissociation rate constants always in lower case en the equilibrium dissociation constants always in upper case. The relation between the association and dissociation is: