SPR-Pages

pagelogo
back
Need help optimizing NTA chip SPR - SPRp
back
This forum is intended for questions about kinetics, Surface Plasmon Resonance and the instruments related to these techniques.

Need help optimizing NTA chip SPR

• peterboy
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
3 years 10 months ago #1 by peterboy
Need help optimizing NTA chip SPR was created by peterboy
Hello,

I'm having a lot of trouble with optimizing DNA (aptamer) to protein binding on an NTA chip. I'm a newbie at SPR so any advice would be much appreciated. My protein does have a his-tag on it.

Question:
1. Do the running buffer, ligand buffer and analyte buffer all have to match? Ie. the running buffer used in the startup cycles, the buffer used to dilute the ligand and the analytes to appropriate concentrations.

2. The running buffer I use is: 25mM Tris-HCl pH 7.5, 100mM NaCl, 20mM imidazole, 0.005% Tween20, 0.5mg/ml BSA. When I run a startup cycle, injection of this buffer results in a noticeable increase in RU. I have also tried buffer: 10 mM HEPES, 150 mM NaCl, 50 µM EDTA. 0.005% Surfactant P20, pH 7.4. But that also produces an RU increase in the startup cycle.
I have read that injection of the running buffer should not do this and it should be almost flat? How do I solve this issue?

3. Up until now I have matched my running buffer, analyte buffer and ligand buffer. The resulting Fc=2-1 I get is flat, with some minor sharp dips and peaks at points of analyte injection. Is this to be expected?

Basically, I'm trying to optimize so that the startup injection of buffer and the injection of analyte will not produce a noticeable RU jump, in order to get accurate results. Am I going about this the right way?

Thank you very much for your time.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Arnoud
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
3 years 10 months ago #2 by Arnoud
Replied by Arnoud on topic Need help optimizing NTA chip SPR
Hi,