SPR-Pages

pagelogo
back
The shape of sensorgrams - SPRpages
back
This forum is intended for questions about kinetics, Surface Plasmon Resonance and the instruments related to these techniques.

The shape of sensorgrams

• VesnaH
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
10 years 1 day ago - 10 years 1 day ago #1 by VesnaH
The shape of sensorgrams was created by VesnaH

I am studying the binding of small analytes to the protein. With several different ligands I've noticed that the curves have a "step" in the middle of the association phase. When changing to slower flow rate, the sensorgrams looks normal, but I am affraid that in this case I am working under mass transfer limitations.
Any comments?
Attachments:
Last edit: 10 years 1 day ago by VesnaH.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Arnoud
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
9 years 11 months ago #2 by Arnoud
Replied by Arnoud on topic The shape of sensorgrams
When the response is dropping during the analyte injection, the cause can be of several origins.

1. Mixing of sample and buffer
When the response during the analyte injection is dropping, it can indicate that there is sample dispersion. The sample is mixing with the flow buffer, resulting in an effective lower analyte concentration (1). Most SPR machines have special routines to separate the flow buffer from the sample. Use them and check if the sample is properly separated from the flow buffer.
Problems with sample dispersion are easily recognized by injecting an elevated NaCl solution (0.5 M). The NaCl solution must give a sharp rise and fall when injected and have a flat steady state. In addition, visually inspect the separation of the sample and flow buffer by the air bubbles. If the separation is not clear, clean the tubing with 0.5% SDS and 50 mM NaOH pH 9.5. Wash through with running buffer and check again.

2. Competition between two variants (size and affinity)